Photos in boxes & files or display for all?

It is not news to anyone who knows me how much I love my family and want to share them with anyone who asks, or in some cases even with those who do not. 🙂 

I have a closet converted to shelving from floor to ceiling full of boxes and files. The boxes hold photographs from my family that date back to the earliest in 1860’s. Most are from the very early 1900’s and then of course the boxes filled with my own family’s memories. Now, what good do they do sitting in these boxes, albums or files? 

I want to celebrate my ancestors and remember them. I want to honor them with more than a yearly visit to the cemetery for some and just remembering them on their birthdays for others. Some of these photos are awesome, inspiring, questioning and just plain cute.

Image

He must have worn her out!

Image

with 8 children and a grandchild to raise, I bet this was a rare quiet moment for her.

So, several years ago when I finally was able to have a room to call my own for my research and Honored Generations business, I decided to take one wall and designate it as my family tree wall. I collected frames from 1″ to 12″ in different styles. I painted a tree and leaves and then added the photos randomly. 

Image

 

There are more photos on the tree now as our family continues to grow. 

Image

 

Probably will repaint the whole tree as this was my first attempt and I have a few new ideas and quite a few new photos showing my McMeekin family that I had never seen before. I want the tree branches to go up to the ceiling now so that when you stand close to look at the photos, you will feel like you are standing under a tree. 

Now when my grandchildren walk in the room, they see themselves and the family and I love it when they ask me “who is that Nina?” and I can share their story with them. 

What ideas do you have for displaying your family photos? 

What’s next? A map. I have a whole wall to paint and I am thinking of a map of America and Europe, in an antique style, and put place names for all the areas our family has lived and place photos of homes, cities or events that I have from there. Like my parents in Germany where my brother was born, or Oldham England where Gramma Frew was born. This could be fun.

 

About honoredgenerations

Curious by nature, passionate about family and history, I find a special calling to honor our previous generations by finding and telling their stories. Each generation leaves an impression on who we are and these lives, these unique individuals deserve to be remembered "generation unto generation".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Photos in boxes & files or display for all?

  1. Pingback: Photos in boxes & files or display for all? « HONORED GENERATIONS

Leave a Reply

