“No Name”

I find it so sad when I am looking at census records to see children who have not been named, some who appear to be closer to two yrs old, but most often they are infants under one. I wonder, were they sickly as newborns and thought not to live? Was there a family disagreement on the naming of the child? Why would you not name your child?

Sometimes you can connect who they are with birth registrations or a later census, and I feel good that they lived and did indeed receive a name. But then there are the times that “no name” disappears from the records. This saddens me that a life was here, was probably wanted, loved and held close once, and then they are gone.

In the 1920 census for NC, I found 193 references to children “no name” or “name not given” , 1910 there are 311, in 1900 there are 196 and yet in 1860 there are only 28. I wonder how many will be found in the 1940 census, and what caused this to happen much more often in the 20th century than in past?

Just wondering, as I look through the census records for signs of life of my ancestors and learn their stories.

About honoredgenerations

Curious by nature, passionate about family and history, I find a special calling to honor our previous generations by finding and telling their stories. Each generation leaves an impression on who we are and these lives, these unique individuals deserve to be remembered "generation unto generation".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

