Treasured heirlooms or e-bay listing?

I admit it. I am great at collecting people and gathering data, sources, documents, photos, etc. I love research and recording of people and their lives. However, I also have collected and been given what amounts to dozens of boxes, shelves and small storage containers full of heirlooms that I have not been so good at “sourcing”.

Tonight I was told….write it down, put it on the object or else…. 

I have so many little treasures from my family, most I know the history for and have it written down, here and there. Then there are the items I have no clue about, but because my great grandmother, or great Aunt or whoever saved it, I though if it was important to them I should keep it. Even though I have no clue to the history or sentiment attached to the item, I keep it. 

I started a log years ago, never finished it. I had taken at least three or more photos of each heirloom I had at the time, and then took a 3X5 index card and wrote about the item. As much as I knew anyway. What was it, who owned it, where did it come from, what was the meaning, who gave it to me, etc. I never completed the task and never put the information together. Shame on me.  

That will change next week when I am taking a few days off for myself. I am going to spend some time not on people per say, but on these pieces of treasured pasts. I am going to get that photo album down, find all the photos and make new ones as needed and label these pieces of history.

I do not want to see my family history treasures  become part of an estate sale or E-Bay trash trinkets.

 

About honoredgenerations

Curious by nature, passionate about family and history, I find a special calling to honor our previous generations by finding and telling their stories. Each generation leaves an impression on who we are and these lives, these unique individuals deserve to be remembered "generation unto generation".
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

